Water’s Wrath Review

29483403

Title: Water’s Wrath

Series: Air Awakens

Author: Elise Kova

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Page Count: 378

Publication: April 26, 2016

Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Rating: 4 out 5 stars


 

Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet.

The Solaris Empire found victory in the North and, at the cost of her heart and her innocence, Vhalla Yarl has earned her freedom. But the true fight is only beginning as the secret forces that have been lurking in the shadows, tugging at the strings of Vhalla’s fate, finally come to light. Nowhere is safe, and Vhalla must tread carefully or else she’ll fall into the waiting arms of her greatest foe. Or former lover.


 

I am very angry with this book. Elise Kova’s writing style is so beautiful, captivating, and poetic, yet the book itself takes hold of my heartstrings and pulls until they snap.

With the beginning revealing Vhalla’s hiding place, it hooks you right in. We continue to watch Vhalla’s lifestyle ever since she left the Empire. Of course, the Kinghts of Jadar disturb our peaceful setting and a fight breaks out. She ends up realizing she needs some sort of protection from them after just barely slipping out of their grasp. She goes back to the Court and reunites with Daniel! Gosh, if I didn’t ship Vhaldrik then I would soo ship Daniel and her. Logically, he is the better choice for a peaceful life and when he shows her his house, I wanna cry. I could see them married and have adorbable children. Of course, they remain close friends.

There has to be tension with Aldrik and Vhalla and I acknowledge her for holding out strong. Eventually, he reaches out. He asks for Vhalla’s opinion on Baldair’s condition, for he has fallen ill to Autumn Fever, since she has experience in that department. To me, it seems like the brothers got really close during the time Baldair was sick. I love Baldair’s character and this whole section of the book pulled on the heartstrings, testing Vhalla. I did cry at the end of the touching moment and I feel no sorrow for it.

The whole drama with the Crystal Caverns was kept me on the edge of my seat. I didn’t know what would happen next. Vhalla is severely injured, to the point of death. Her future? You’ll have to discover it for yourself! Unless you are willing to read the spoiler section which is up next!

 

First off, let’s talk about all the deaths in this book.

Jax. I nearly died on the inside because I didn’t get to know him well and I couldn’t imagine how Vhalla would explain the situation, or how the rest of the Golden Guard would take it. Thankfully, when she met Daniel again, she discovered he was not dead! I was ecstatic!!! Of course, Elis Kova couldn’t let me be happy for long.

Baldair’s death was harder on me than Leral’s! Like I have said multiple times in other reviews, I didn’t particularly like him at first. I learned to love him. He was gonna take place of Aldrik and become emperor so that Aldrik and Vhalla could get married!!! The infamous Heartbreaker prince died a good man. Gosh, just thinking about this makes me wanna cry. 😥 I am thankful that Vhalla was able t0 get Aldrik inside for at least five minutes to talk to him. I cried. This series has broken my heart before many a times, but Badair’s death shattered it with no hope of being fixed.

Then the crystal caverns…Vhalla and I were duped. There was so many hints that Aldrik wasn’t actually him, but we just pushed it to the side. It was later revealed to be stupid Victor. The fight was tragic and gaaah. I thought she would actually die. Thankfully she didn’t, but it was at the cost of her and Aldrik’s Bond. Didn’t help any that it is revealed that she is no longer a Windwalker. If I was in her situation, that would break my heart and I would want to hide myself from the world. She braved on through and dealt with it like the adult she is.

Oh, but it gets better! When Vhalla went into town with some of Fritz’s sisters, they find a man tainted by the crystals who is announcing that the Emperor and everyone else has fallen and to now declare themselves loyal to Victor. I loved the ending though when the whole group declared themselves loyal to Aldrik and they raised they’re voices with “Long live Solaris.”


 

This book series will be the death of me.

As always, check back in later for more content, read a book or two and I’ll see you in the next post! xoxo – Izzy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment